Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Questions regarding the Developer Edition's SuperEdit? This is the place!

Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Dan_Kelleher » Sat Nov 13, 2010 2:39 pm

Is there a way to restrict the line tool, without using scripted drawing, to drawing horizontal (or vertical) lines by hand ?
Something Similar to use of the shift key as a modifier to draw perfect circles with the oval tool and squares with the rectangle tool.

If not, that would be a nice addition.

if there is a way currently, I'm going to kick myself for not asking sooner, like years sooner.
User avatar
Dan_Kelleher
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Worcester (wouster as in would) Massachusetts USA

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Dan_Kelleher » Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:27 pm

The answer occurred to me while washing the dishes;
Draw the non-horizontal line.
cmd I
select sizes
set the height to zero (or set the width to zero to get the vertical line)
It always pays to wash the dishes.
User avatar
Dan_Kelleher
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Worcester (wouster as in would) Massachusetts USA

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Scott » Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:14 pm

I guess I don't understand… why can't you use the shift key?
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:37 pm
Location: Northern Sierra Nevada

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Dan_Kelleher » Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:48 pm

No reason. It works.
I had tried it and thought it had had no effect. shoot_me
User avatar
Dan_Kelleher
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Worcester (wouster as in would) Massachusetts USA

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Scott » Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:59 pm

Works here… what are you seeing?
User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:37 pm
Location: Northern Sierra Nevada

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Dave_Higgins » Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:14 pm

Ummm... If you're using the Draw Tool (as opposed to the Paint Tool), Couldn't you just use "Draw Straight Line"?...

Draw_Straight_Line.png
Draw_Straight_Line.png (6.08 KiB) Viewed 3178 times
My two favorite teams are Detroit and whoever's playing Chicago.
User avatar
Dave_Higgins
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Dark Side Of The Moon

Re: Draw Tools: Restricting the line tool to horizontal

Postby Dan_Kelleher » Sun Nov 14, 2010 6:39 am

Well, thank you guys.
What can I say ?
Either that's why they make those Smilies shoot_me
or/and, more truthfully, "Dan is Dan", inescapably.
The upshot is we have at least 3 ways to do it - all of which work fine.
Daniel.Kelleher@umassmed.edu
SC4.7.3 OSX 10.7.2 Mac Pro
User avatar
Dan_Kelleher
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:45 pm
Location: Worcester (wouster as in would) Massachusetts USA


Return to SuperEditing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest